Things I’ve Missed Out On in High School

My senior year of high school is just about halfway over and there are still so many things I haven’t done. Things that I was told (by every high school movie ever) were an inherent part of high school. Though there’s still time for some of these to happen, I doubt that most will ever be a part of my high school story.

1. Social Events

I’m an introvert. Social events aren’t fun for me, they’re difficult. I hate being in large groups of people, I’d much prefer being with only one or two friends and doing something simple. At home, not out in public. Because of this, I have been to very few school dances and such. I’ve never been to the actual Homecoming dance (though I have gone out to dinner with a group of friends for Homecoming) and I’ve never been to any other social event the school has hosted. I have gone to every football game, but that’s because I’m part of the marching band and I have to.
I don’t know if in five or ten years I’ll look back on my adversion to social events in high school and regret it. We’ll have to wait and see.

2. Being Popular


Now this is something I know I won’t regret. In every high school movie ever there’s a popular crowd (usually blonde cheerleaders) that everyone wants to be a part of. There was one at my school too, though it wasn’t very defined since there are so many people. But I can safely say that I have never been “popular” and I think I’m okay with that. It doesn’t really matter if you have a lot of friends if all of your friends are fake.

3. Parties

 I’ve heard rumors about the kinds of parties people at my school have hosted. They usually involve jello shots, weed brownies, people having sex in the closet. The police get called halfway through and everyone tries to hide the empty beer bottles, but it doesn’t matter because the host’s parents are coming home and everyone is going to get busted anyway. Nothing about this appeals to me (which is why I’ve “missed out” on it, obviously) but I feel like parties are an important part of a high school student’s life. And when you’ve seen stuff like this you get a little bit of street cred. People crowd around you as you tell them, “Last Friday, Bob had this crazy party and you’d never believe…”

This one kind of goes with the next one, so…

4. That Rebellious Phase


I’ve never threatened to run away from home,  never had a huge fight with my parents, and never have done something that slightly bent the law or was frowned upon. I’ve always wondered what it would be like to just skip school with my friends and go do something fun. Maybe I will. I’ve still got a semester left, and then I might not see any of my friends for a long time. Who needs Statistics, anyway?

But because I’ve never had a rebellious phase, I feel like I’ve never been a real teenager. If I wasn’t sneaking out of the house to go to some party, what was I doing in high school that’s worth talking about? (homework) High school is the time to mess around and make mistakes, and since I didn’t, I feel like I’ve missed my chance. Now if I act stupid I’ll actually get in real trouble.

I’m not losing sleep over this or anything, but I do feel like I’ve missed something.

5. Dating


Yup, it’s true: I’m seventeen years old and I’ve never had a boyfriend.

I’ve gotten over feeling bad about myself for it. I don’t need someone else in my life to tell me I’m valued and important. I know I’m valued and important. Still, there are some days when I wish there was someone I could talk to that I know would care about me, someone to go to movies with, all that stuff. Especially since my parents are high school sweethearts, I had this idea in my head that I would find The One while in high school. And then I was disappointed when it didn’t happen.

This is something I regret missing out on, though I don’t know how I could have changed it. I never rejected anyone or refused to go on a date, I was never asked! (Now it’s getting kind of sad.) And I would have asked someone myself if there was someone worth asking. Teenage boys are kind of dumb, you know?

What things did you miss out on in high school? Or, if you’re still in high school, what knd of expectations do you have for your experience? Comment and let me know!

Leave a Reply

