Preview of Spider-man Homecoming

Thank goodness they aren’t doing an origin story again.

My brother sometimes likes to tease me and suggest that the only reason I like superhero movies is because of the hot actors. And while that may occasionally be an element of the movie I enjoy, that isn’t the only reason I like superhero movies. (And also kind of sexist, but that’s for another post.)

The first trailer for Spider-man Homecoming recently came out and I can not tell you how THRILLED I am that they are making another Spider-man movie! A good one this time! And letting him be part of the Avengers! All of these things are great.

Tom Holland (the guy that’s playing spider-man) seems to actually be the perfect fit for the part. I liked Andrew Garfield and Emma Stone together in the more recent Spider-man movies, but Andrew Garfield didn’t really get the nerdy aspect across. He was too attractive, his hair was too perfect, and wearing glasses didn’t make him seem any less attractive or any more nerdy. We already have many very attractive superheroes in the MCU. Andrew Garfield as Spider-man made him less unique and really less like Spider-man is supposed to be. And Tobey Maguire as Spider-man… well…

cryin

I think we can all agree that Spider-man 3 was unnecessary. (And 1 and 2…)

But Tom Holland! He’s got that adorably nerdy voice and he looks like he could still be in high school, maybe (unlike Andrew Garfield who was fooling nobody). Tom Holland is nerdy and adorable and also

tom-holland-spider-man-trailer-670x422

there’s that.

And I love that Tony Stark has a few appearances in the movie (at least according to the trailer) and also seems to be guiding young Peter Parker on how to be a superhero. It’s sweet, and it’s a good way to incorporate Spider-man into the avengers, even though he is just a kid.
Also have you guys noticed Aunt May keeps getting younger every time they redo Spider-man?

aunt-may

Just a thought. Kinda funny, isn’t it? Not that I have a problem with it, it’s just another change. It certainly makes it a little less weird when Tony Stark flirts with her. (Also, why is that necessary?)

Speaking of changes, people have been all upset about Zendaya playing MJ, Peter Parker’s love interest. Apparently because she’s not a redhead or she’s not white or whatever. Guys. It’s ZENDAYA. I’m upset MJ wasn’t played by Zendaya in the comics. Zendaya is fabulous, and since she’s also in this movie it should also be fabulous. Who cares if she has red hair.

tbh, when I heard that MJ would be a character in this Spider-man movie I was kinda disappointed because I liked Gwen Stacey way better than MJ, but when I heard that Zendaya was going to be playing MJ I decided it was okay. Zendaya will make it better.

(Just did some fact checking, it seems to be still unsure whether Zendaya is playing MJ or this other character “Michelle”. I don’t really care. Whoever Zendaya is playing will be a big deal and she will do a great job.)

So I decided to write this little preview because Spider-man has always been one of my favorite superheroes and I don’t feel like doing my homework. He’s funny, my age, in journalism/on a newspaper staff (like me) and my homework is boring. 🙂

But seriously, one of my favorite parts about Spider-man is how quick-witted he is. Just because you’re strong and smashing up bad guys or whatever doesn’t mean you can’t make jokes. I don’t think there are any other superheroes as funny as Spider-man.

spiderman

If you haven’t seen the trailer yet, go ahead and watch it here! The movie is set to release July 7th, 2017 (just a few days after my birthday!) Also, if you haven’t seen Captain America: Civil War and missed out on Tom Holland’s first appearances as Spider-man, you can watch most of the scenes with him here.

Leave a Reply

