Nanowrimo 2016

Yay Nanowrimo! This year I got to 63,165 words by November 30th which makes my lifetime achievement goal 213,403 words. But what I’m really proud about this year isn’t the amount of words that I wrote, but the fact that the words I’ve written don’t completely suck. I’m proud to say that my writing is improving, and it’s possible that some of those 63,165 words will be published someday.

It’s been a couple weeks since November has come to end, but I’ve been continuing to work on my novel. I’m at about 80K words right now and still going. Almost to the climax of the plot. My goal with Nanowrimo has never been just to write 50 thousand words for fun but to create a novel that I could potentially publish one day. That’s what people don’t seem to understand. Writing is not my hobby. Writing is my life.

My grandfather has been talking to me a lot recently about self-publishing. I told him about the silly goal I had, about possibly being published before I graduated high school, and he said that wasn’t silly at all. On top of that, he said he wanted to help me make that happen. He said he would pay for me to get the novel self-published and then take some of the proceeds as if he had loaned me money.

(We haven’t really worked out the money part yet. He said we would involve my parents so it wouldn’t look like he was taking advantage of me or whatever. It’ll work out.)

Who knows, maybe the novel I’m working on now could be the one that gets published in a few months?

(Probably not)

All the after stuff aside, I’ve had a very successful Nanowrimo this year and can’t wait to do it again next year! I promised myself that whatever I accomplished this year I would make my goal for next year ten thousand more. So for Nanowrimo 2017 my goal is 73,165 words (which is insane!)!

2 thoughts on “Nanowrimo 2016

Leave a Reply

