Words of Encouragment for Nanowrimo

I was talking with my dad about some plot points for my Nanowrimo novel this year when he told me, “You know this is never going to get published, right?”

Uh.

Dad.

That’s exactly the kind of thing you want to tell your daughter who wants to write books for a living.

Needless to say, I was shocked by his cold statement. I just kind of sat there for a second, my eyes wide. What did he mean? Why did he tell me that? When I put it in the context of our conversation it made more sense: some of my plot points may break some copyright laws. (I wasn’t really paying attention to the conversation. I was thinking about my plot.) I’ll be okay if it’s considered parody, but honestly right now it doesn’t matter whether I can publish it or not. I haven’t written the thing yet! And by the time I write it, edit it, rewrite it, and repeat the process again it’s very possible the un-publishable elements I’m including now will be gone.

I don’t think it’s a good idea to write a book to be published. Obviously that’s the end goal, but I think having publishing in mind during the initial writing process restricts your creativity. I want to write what I want to write about. Other people liking it is just a nice by-product.

(To be honest I’ve never published a book so maybe all these opinions will change when I try to get something published…)

If this Nano novel ends up getting published, I’m definitely dedicating it to my dad. And I’m definitely quoting him in the dedication.

Leave a Reply

