First Last Marching Competition

Last night I competed with the marching band for the first last time. (yes, I’m that senior) 

I’m conflicted on how to feel about it. On one hand, I’m excited to be done with marching season, with high school in general. On the other hand, I’m going to miss some aspects of all this. Like everything that happened yesterday.

The day was fantastic. We swept the competition, got first place and all the captions (so like best music, best visuals, all those, the most important one being best colorguard) (I’m one of the captains of the colorguard, btw)

I like winning (who doesn’t) but we work ourselves to death for it. We’re out in the heat of the day, running around, spinning, performing. In order to be in first place you have to sell your soul to the extracurricular. I have other passions, other interests I would like to pursue (writing, mostly) but I always have marching band practice, or sectionals for the colorguard, or things to organize and figure out for the colorguard leadership. Colorguard has taken over my life!

It’s exhausting. Some days I wish it was just all over.

But we have just a little over a month left. I don’t want to squander any day wishing it was all over because I know I’ll miss it when it’s gone.

Leave a Reply

