Blog Birthday

My blog, missceladon, is a year old today! It feels just yesterday I hovered my fingers over the keyboard for the first time, wondering what I could possibly write about.

I didn’t expect to get any followers or any response from it, but the attention I have gotten has been overwhelmingly supportive. They say they worst people in the world show up in youtube comments, I think the best people show up in blogs.

I started this blog because I wanted to get my feelings and opinions out there. I didn’t want to keep them bottled up inside me anymore. And though I didn’t know exactly what I wanted to write about, I knew I wanted to write about something. I knew I had to write, that if I didn’t I would feel all yucky inside.

Writing is an addiction.

I started this blog because I had to write, and also because I thought it would be interesting to look on in later years, to see how I’ve grown and changed. Using this blog I can track how my writing has improved along with my maturity. These posts are like a time capsule; at any point I can open one up and ask myself, what was life like then?

It’s interesting to me how much more confident I’ve become. When I first started blogging I felt like I couldn’t really say much, and if I said anything at all it would be too much. I was intimidated by all the posts in the “Discover” section of the WordPress reader. They all seemed so impressive and empowering. I didn’t have anything amazing like that to write about, and even if I did I wouldn’t know how to express it. My very first post, actually titled “I Have Nothing Important to Say” was all about my insecurities in starting this blog. I didn’t think it would work out, I didn’t think it was something I could actually commit to doing.

I’m so glad I did.

My pseudonym, Miss Celadon, is also a year old today. I always thought it would be fun to write under a pseudonym, I just didn’t ever think of doing it for a blog until, well, a year ago today. I chose the name because “celadon” is one of my favorite words and also one of my favorite colors (its like a grayish sea foam green). I didn’t put much thought into it really, I just thought it was interesting.

This past year of blogging has been a whirlwind of fun and I look forward to another year of writing and learning more about myself through this blog. My goal for this next year is to make my posts more streamlined and cohesive (not sure how I’m going to do that though). Maybe I’ll make little series’ or something. We’ll see what happens.

Thank you to all my readers and followers, especially to the ones that have been here from the beginning. I look forward to spending another year blogging with all of you.

8 thoughts on “Blog Birthday

  1. There are several things that you said in that post that I feel hit the nail on the head. The first of which is about feeling “yucky” if you don’t write. Secondly, you said writing is an addiction, which I agree with very much. I just discovered your blog and look forward to reading more in the future.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

