I’m Back!

It feels like FOREVER since I last blogged. I’ve missed it so much. Honestly, there’s something so freeing in writing down mundane, day to day events. And I love the blogging community. 🙂 I’ve missed you guys!

I realize I have not posted anything in over a month. Yikes. Here’s what’s been going on:

Kid’s Camp for my church was where I was at the end of July. Kid’s Camp is such an amazing experience. This year was my second time to be a counselor there. I had such amazing girls and such an amazing time. I need an entire post to explain my week at camp, so I’ll save that for later.

Band camp was not as hard or tedious as I thought it would be. We actually got some rainy weather the last week that kept us inside most of the time, and when we were outside it was really cool. I’m very thankful to be done with my last band camp. I’m never going outside during the month of August again. I meant to blog right after band camp as school creeped to a start, but school didn’t bother to creep. It sprinted right past the starting line and into the full swing of things. I had two tests this past week, the first week of school. Its the first week!

My school life is all over the place right now. I have to get back into the swing of doing homework, manage my time when I have fourth period off, plan for nanowrimo (only about 64 more days until November!), and take care of my responsibilities in colorguard. There’s so much to do, so little time, and all I want to do is write.Here are a few little updates on my life. Lucy (whom I’ve written about in Chameleon Friend and Lucy Part 2) is borderline obsessed with my friends. She’s said to a different, mutual friend of ours that she doesn’t understand why I get so upset when she talks to them, as if I’m the one thats out of line. And maybe I am, but it feels like she’s replacing me. Suddenly I’m irrelevant in my own friend group, a circle that has existed since third grade. She gives them all the little updates about guard, she offers to help them with things I used to help them with, she is at every free moment hanging around them…. It gives me this ugly sick feeling inside. I don’t like being territorial, but I also don’t like being cast out and forgotten.

The boy I used to like, J, (I last wrote about him in my post Uncrushed) well, I might still like him. I know, I know, stereotypical teenage angst. I’m sorry. I’m normal. Anyway, every time we talk I get this weird happy feeling inside and we talk much more than we used to. I’m not going to read too much into it because it’s senior year and in a matter of months I won’t see any of these people again, but I thought it worth acknowledging.

One of our old band directors moved schools so we have a new one this year, Mr. Sherbert (that’s not actually his name, but it’s what we all call him). He was a student teacher at our school last year, so he is literally right out of college. Its kinda crazy to me. Like, this teacher is only about four or five years older than myself. And he looks so young (he’s pretty cute too. I joke with my friends that the age difference between us is small enough; I could date him.) (Rumor has it he’s gay though, so there goes that).

I really like all of my classes this first semester. I have newspaper (where I am Editor-in-Chief…of a five person staff), then colorguard (where I’m captain with my slightly irresponsible friend, Taylor), then AP US Government, and last AP English Literature. My government class (really the first real class of the day) is straight up lectures all the time. Which I like, I like to take notes and to answer questions while sitting and looking at a powerpoint, but I’m always really tired after guard and I get sleepy as my muscles start to relax and the air conditioning cools me off. I find myself zoning out as Mr. Johnson goes off on a tangent about Trump or same-sex marriage, his two favorite topics. His ideas don’t exactly align with mine when it comes to most controversial topics, so when we start learning about politics this class might get a little more interesting. My English class is fantastic. It’s blended, so I don’t have class on Tuesdays or Thurdays. Supposedly that’s kinda like college, so its supposed to help us prepare to learn on our own and stuff. My teacher, Mr. Werts, is everything an English teacher should be. He’s odd, connects with the students, is very opinionated about literature, strict but at the same time relaxed, funny, and intimidating. He told us he refuses to teach Pride and Prejudice because he hates it, and though Pride and Prejudice is one of my new all-time favorite books, I’m okay with that. I would rather him not teach it than teach it and make fun of it the whole time.

So that’s everything with me. Just finished my last first week of high school (yes, I’m that annoying senior). I’m surprised at how…indifferent I feel about senior year. Most people are either super excited to finish and get out or sad and scared about college and sentimental with all their friends. I’m neither. It’s not like I haven’t enjoyed high school or I’m not excited for college… I don’t know. It’s just another step in life. Like a birthday. We’re older now and life goes on. Lots of people gradauate high school. Why is it such a big deal?

I hope all of you guys had great summers! I can’t wait to read your posts and catch back up with all the people in WordPress world. 🙂 It’s so good to be back!

One thought on “I’m Back!

Leave a Reply

