No More Part 2

I want to change this. I want to make a difference in the world. I don’t want to be in fear for my life. I don’t want anyone to ever live in fear for their life. These things have become too common. Already the hashtag #prayfor____ has gotten old. People are done praying. They want something to happen.

I think that is a mistake. People should keep praying.

Pray that God will protect the innocent.

Pray that they stop the terrorists.

Pray that good will overcome evil.

Everything seems murky and unclear. Violence pops up in every corner of the world, without rhyme or reason. There isn’t an obvious way to put an end to the hate or the pain, or an obvious person to lead us to the end of all the violence. I want to help, but I don’t know how. I want this to stop, but I don’t see that it ever will.

As I was writing my last post on this subject a song came on my playlist that I felt fit this situation. All the fear, all the murkiness, all the anxiety I’m feeling about this was expressed here. It was the song Pippin sings to Denethor in the movie Return of the King (it’s called The Sacrifice of Faramir):

home is behind

the world ahead

there are many paths to tread

through shadow

to the edge of night

until the stars are all alight

mist and shadow

cloud and shape

all shall fade

all shall fade

Will we ever know how to stop evil? Probably not. But God does. We should never stop praying because God is the only answer to all this. How can any person put a stop to the evil that is going on in the world today?

I’m no expert on Christianity or anything, but I’ve been a Christian long enough to know that prayer is the answer to this. Pray with me, for the people of Nice and around the world that have been victims of evil.

Dear God, I’m going to be totally honest with you. I’m scared. I’m going to be an adult next year and I don’t want to live on my own in a world where terrorist attacks and gun violence are just another statistic, just another news story. Please watch over me as I go through life, please give me strength and peace.

God, please watch over the people of Nice as they grieve for the family and friends that have been lost. Help them know that all things work together for good, even the most horrible things. Take care of them and give them the kind of peace that only you can provide.

Please watch over police officers and other law enforcement members while they are doing their jobs. Thank you for such brave individuals that risk theirs lives to protect the innocent.

God, I pray that somehow these tragedies will lead people to you, because only you can stop this kind of evil.

I don’t know what else to say, but I know in my heart that you are all powerful and you can end this chaos. Thank you for loving us. Thank you for everything you’ve given us.

In Jesus’ name, Amen.

5 thoughts on “No More Part 2

  1. You said all of this wonderfully, both part 1 and part 2! I am tried of all the terrorism, and it scares me. But I know the Lord is my protection, and He watches over me, and that fact seems to calm me when I am afaird! These two posts are so inspiring!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

