How I Waste My Time

It’s summer. We’re supposed to be relaxed and chilling before school starts. But also there are a lot of things I want to get done before school starts. But I also want to sit around and do nothing because nobody is actually requiring me to do things.

Here are the things I should be doing:

  • Summer reading, Pride and Prejudice, 1984
  • Working on my novel (I have to finish it before November Nanowrimo comes around!)
  • Working out?
  • Spending time with family
  • Organizing stuff for guard
  • Practicing for guard

Here’s what I’m actually doing:

  • Watching YouTube videos

….
Also I’ve been blogging. But not as much as I want to. And I need to finish writing about my vacation but I just haven’t and I’m just so unmotivated to do ANYTHING. Ugh.

This is why I like winter break better. Winter break is shorter, so you don’t feel like you have all this time and you actually do stuff. Also winter break has Christmas, which is definitely the best holiday.

My mom has this phrase she says all the time, “Action precedes energy.” As in, you have to actually do something before you have the energy to do it. It makes sense, and I’ve definitely experienced that and confirm it’s veracity. But it takes so much effort to do things.

Next week I’ll have guard camp, so I won’t have the option of sitting around on my butt watching Youtube. I’ll be at school from 9-6 doing guard stuff and stressing out because I’m a freaking captain. I don’t even want to do guard anymore! I just want to write. I want to go to college and write every day. I want to publish a novel. And I feel like I could devote more time to writing and novel publishing if I wasn’t doing colorguard.

Then again, I might spend more time just watching Youtube videos.

2 thoughts on “How I Waste My Time

  1. I need/want to read George Orwell’s 1984 too! Ah… summer. I wanted to travel more, which is kind of happening. but I also want to work on my novels and Camp NaNoWriMo and working out and riubqvow[ibiuqbwe[oibevoi—YouTube is definitely my biggest distraction too, despite the fact that there’s only three people i follow regularly… the rest of the videos using my time just… clickbait me? At least I’ve acquired quite a library of cartoon trivia and relationship advice!…?

    I hope guard goes well, and you do all that you want this summer! …not to be scary or anything, but it is kind of scary that July is halfway done, and I start school next month. You too? ^_^;;; Good luck with everything! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

