Disney 2016 | Day 6: Getting on the Cruise

There was about an hour car ride from the Art of Animation resort to the harbor where our cruise ship was waiting. I was able to write just a smidge before my ipad died during that car ride. Here it is:

I’m very sad to leave our hotel behind. I really loved the little mermaid theme and all the fun we had at the parks. We have to drive an hour to get to the ship, so I have a little time to write. My ipad is at 1 percent though, so this isn’t going to last long. I’ll have to continue writing on my phone or something.Disney is truly an amazing place. It’s magical to children, inspiring to teens, and nostalgic for grandparents. Its the other adults that get cranky.

Aaand that was it. I slept the rest of the ride. I wasn’t too sure what to think of the cruise. I felt like it was something for the rich elite, and I felt kind of uncomfortable being included in that group of people. I wanted to tell the workers and people there, “My grandparents paid for this! We have nothing to do with this!” I don’t know where that guilt came from… it was just there. I felt like a cruise was something people spent a lot of money on.

I didn’t like it at first. I was expecting the Disney cruise to be like Disney World on water but it just wasn’t. First of all, there were people selling alcohol at every turn, there was constant pop music playing instead of songs from Disney movies, and there were all these clubs and parties people could go to every night. There was so many people and no way to get away from them… the introvert in me was screaming.

We had our first nice dinner at the Animator’s Palette, this cute place that was themed with drawings and diagrams of various Disney movies, but specifically Finding Nemo. I could feel the boat moving all throughout dinner, which took some getting used to. It made me feel seasick at first though, which was horrible while eating.

I also got stuck at the kid’s table, which first was kind of funny, but then it was kind of annoying. Three of my cousins there are five and under and they needed help ordering, so I had to instruct Saffron to help one of them, make sure my brother Cobalt was taking care of the other, and I watched out for the youngest, who was making his fork and knife fight. It was a very violent fight. There was ketchup involved. I also had to make sure he didn’t break anything.

The staff was amazing throughout all of it. We had the same two servers every night for dinner on the cruise, and they were just fantastic. We had Shawn from Barbados (it said so on his nametag) and Irwington from Jamaica. Both had accents like you’d expect men from Barbados and Jamaica to have. They were incredibly nice and wonderful. They were good with the little kids and didn’t seem fazed at all by the fact that they were quiet and shy or fighting with butter knives. And during the first dinner Shawn brought me an appetizer that I hadn’t ordered, just because he thought I would like it and it was one of his favorites. It was delicious. I was so thankful for them. They could have easily been bored or unenthusiastic about their jobs, but they put so much energy and kindness into everything they did.

After dinner the family split up a little. My dad went with me and Saffron to this performance called “The Golden Mickeys”. I didn’t know what to expect, but I thought there might be a chance it was live performances of Disney songs, so I was good with that. Magenta and Cobalt went to see the Jungle Book in one of the theaters on the cruise where they were playing some recent Disney movies that had just come out. My mom went back to the room with Lilac who was a party pooper and claimed she needed to sleep.

The Golden Mickeys turned out to be almost exactly what I had anticipated, but better. It was live performances of various Disney songs including “Under the Sea” from The Little Mermaid, “Cruella deVil”, “Make a Man Out of You” from Mulan, and lots of others. The performers were so good! I love musicals, and this was pretty close to one. There wasn’t much of a storyline, and it was only an hour long, but I really liked it.

After the show we went to bed. I still wasn’t too sure I would like the cruise, but I was warming up to the idea of it.

Leave a Reply

