New Disney Princess?!

After my trip to Disney World I’ve kind of been, well, obsessing over everything Disney. So I thought I should investigate into what Disney is doing currently.

Moana is the name of the newest Disney princess movie, starring a new princess of the same name. I’m currently working on a novel I started rewriting this past April, and this novel uses a lot of Hawaiian vocabulary and culture. In my research I found that the word “moana” means “ocean.” I’ve really fallen in love with Hawaiian culture and language, so when I saw that the next Disney princess was going to use both, I was super excited.

Apparently, according to things I read on this website, Moana is the 56th animated movie made by Disney Studios (pretty cool). Moana will also follow Polynesian legends and myths (which I had already kind of guessed from her name) (and I already know a little about these myths from my research).  Also the princess’s full name is Moana Waialiki and she’s 14.

The movie will be released on November 23, 2016 (right in the middle of Nanowrimo!) and apparently uses some fancy new color animation technique. Idk. The people say it will be pretty.

Here’s the trailer, and as I was watching it I realized one thing the last website had failed to mention. Dwayne Johnson is in this movie! I think it’s kind of funny the character he voices, Maui, kind of looks like him a little bit. Just a little.

So that will be awesome.

Also, you know Disney likes to snap up all the good things they can for themselves (Marvel, Star Wars) and they have the money to do it, so it should be no surprise when you hear Lin Manuela Miranda’s voice at the end half of the trailer. Of course, now everyone knows Miranda has started working for Disney since he’s leaving Hamilton on July 9th to go work on the new Mary Poppins movie.

The end half of the video I linked above tells a little bit about the voice actors in the movie. The girl that’s voicing Moana, Auli’i Cravalho, is actually 14 and from the Pacific islands. I just think that’s so cute that she actaully is the same age as her character. The vide0 shows her getting the news and she just looks so happy and so excited. What an opportunity, to be a Disney princess. I would love to be a Disney princess. That’s amazing. I can’t wait to see Moana!

3 thoughts on “New Disney Princess?!

  1. I absolutely agree; so excited to see this. also, I’m so excited to see the live-action version of Beauty and the Beast! Emma Watson looks PERFECT for the part of Belle!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Im very excited to see the new movie! The graphics looked beautiful for disney’s 56th animated movie. Disney is stepping up their game with their graphics, and with the new princess being Hawaiian thats another big step, because typically princess’s are white females, and this just shows more acceptance to other races. All in all the movie looks like it is going to be great, and Diversity will be even more of a say with this!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

