I Feel Like I Should Blog…

I want to write, but I don’t really have anything to write about right now. So this post is probably going to be pretty pointless.

Right now I’m listening to the song that plays at during the credits of The Princess Bride (Storybook Love). It makes me so happy 🙂 The Princess Bride is one of my favorite books and movies (and that doesn’t happen too often). It reminds me of watching movies with my mom, just the two of us. It’s one of my favorite things to do with her. We’ve watched many of the movies she grew up watching (like Breakfast Club, Grease, and Footloose) and  The Princess Bride was definitely one of my favorites. My mom can quote almost every line. Not only does it have that nostalgia to it, but it’s my goal in life to write something like The Princess Bride. The story I’m currently working on has been described to me as a mix between The Princess Bride and The Pirates of the Carribbean, which I consider very high praise. I think it was only meant to describe the kind of genre I was writing, not necessarily the quality, but still. I hope to be able to write something as amazing as either of those two things.

The Princess Bride is just a perfect story. It has everything you could ever want in a book, action, romance, swordfights, hilarious one-liners… it makes me feel happy just thinking about it.

“My love is like a storybook story, but it’s as real as the feelings I feel.”

There’s something just so amazing about the idea of a happily ever after, you know? There’s a sort of security in it and contentment. I think as people we want a happily ever after of our own, we want to know that at the end of the day we win and get to enjoy the fruits of our labor, or ride off into the sunset on a white stallion. The kinds of stories that don’t end happily ever after are the ones that are trying to pull at your heartstrings and get some sort of reaction from you. And even then that’s still the “happily ever after” idea (in that case, lack thereof) working there.

Anyway, that doesn’t make any sense, but at least I wrote something.

One thought on “I Feel Like I Should Blog…

Leave a Reply

