Camp Nano Update

So the final day of Camp Nanowrimo is tomorrow. I’m about three thousand words away from winning, which is doable in twenty-four hours. I’ve been doing a rewrite of a novel I wrote during 2014 Nanowrimo, so I haven’t been stuck when it came to the plot or anything. My main goal this month was to make the story better, get rid of plot holes, and make my characters less flat. I’ve definitely gotten rid of the plot holes and added A LOT more words. (I’m almost at 50K and only halfway through the plot). I think my characters are more interesting, but I thought they were fine the first time I wrote them too.
To change the subject a little: I have this goal that sometimes feels ridiculous. I want to get one of my stories published before I graduate high school (which will happen in about a year). When I’m writing in the moment my story feels good enough to be a real book, but when I read back over it I’m not so sure. I know it’s not exactly rare for people to get published in high school, but I just don’t know if my work is good enough.
Anyway, that’s a little update for you. I haven’t blogged in a while since I was busy with Camp Nano. Hopefully I’ll be writing here again soon when my novel is finished.

2 thoughts on “Camp Nano Update

  1. Good luck with finishing your novel, you can do it! I just made the Camp goal with a day to spare, it was a close one. Congratulations on all the work you’ve done far, you should be proud of yourself (:

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

