My Second College Visit

Yesterday I got home from my second college visit. This time it was to public school was much cheaper and much bigger than the one I visited previously. I liked it a lot, but I want to kind of keep my options open and still look at everything, not commit to anything right now.
The first thing I noticed about the campus was how green everything was. It’s located in a very beautiful part of the state where I live; it’s very hilly and has lots of trees and stuff. There’s a river nearby too that runs through the campus. And in a lot of the buildings there were windows overlooking the campus and you could see the hills and fog over the hills. It was just very picturesque and beautiful.
Our day was pretty packed. We had a lot of sessions to go to and we actually missed a few because we change around schedule so much. The first session we went to was about the college of liberal arts. It was really cool I really liked it. I plan to be an English major, and if I go to this school it allows me to focus on creative writing and take some classes that are set up like writing workshops. Before this weekend, I had planned to be an English major and minor in teaching, specifically teaching preschool. That way while I worked on getting my book published, if I don’t get published in high school or college, I would still have a job to keep me going until I could get published. And as a preschool teacher I would still have time to write since I wouldn’t work every day necessarily. But that changed soon after the second session. The second session we went to was for the College of Education and it was very informative, talked a lot about the path you take to become a teacher, but throughout the whole presentation I was just thinking “this is not for me.” The career path was too limited and didn’t leave a lot of room to focus on other things or other majors if you didn’t just want to be a teacher. And I didn’t want to just be a teacher. I felt like I was getting sucked in too deep into something I didn’t want to be a part of. Teaching was just supposed to be a safety net in case writing didn’t work out, I didn’t want it to be my whole life or to replace writing or being an author.
After that presentation I kind of felt like my world was rocked. I didn’t know what to do with myself. I knew that if I wanted to be a writer I was going to just have to risk it with no safety net. My whole plan for college and the rest of my life was kind of messed up a little bit and I didn’t know what to do about that.
After that life-altering session, we decided on a whim to go to the Honors College session and see what that was about. It was actually really interesting. I could probably get into a honors college, at least at a public school like the one I was looking at, and it looks like they offered better, smaller, more interesting classes, so that would be fun.
After that session the day became less interesting. We took a tour of the campus and of a couple of the dorms, which were smaller than I anticipated. I really loved the campus how old all the buildings were. Everything was really pretty and green and lovely.
All in all, it was a really good trip. I think it’s definitely a college I could go to and I’ll keep it on my list. We’ll just have to wait and see what happens next.

2 thoughts on “My Second College Visit

  1. I love hearing about your college visits! I remember how it felt like trying to pick what course and college what college to go to. I love how you won’t settle for anything less than what you want. I hope you find the one for you!

    ♡http://www.mitzijonelle.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

