My Favorite Hawaiian Words

In my Nanowrimo novel that I’m rewriting this month (see post: Camp Nanowrimo) I’ve been using a lot of Hawaiian words to create the culture of my made-up island. Here are some of my favorite words and their meanings:

  • Mahalo–thank you
  • Moana–ocean
  • I’a–fish
  • Ku’uipo–sweetheart
  • Pilikia- troubles
  • Pōmaika’i- good fortune, blessing 

Which ones are your fav? Have any neat words of your own you’d like to share?

One thought on “My Favorite Hawaiian Words

  1. You have a pomaika… blessing, a gift in form of writing. Your blog is fascinating to read through. – Cezane

    Like

Leave a Reply

