What is the Deal with Hamilton?

Practically everyone I know has been talking about Hamilton, this new show that has just started performing on Broadway. I started doing some digging, found the soundtrack on Spotify, watched some videos about it on Youtube, just to see what everyone has been obsessing over.

This show is amazing.

As stated in a video I found, “it’s America’s history told by America today.” The show follows Alexander Hamilton, one of the founding fathers of the USA, and basically tells his life story. There’s like a zillion songs in the soundtrack, but they’re all worth listening to. The soundtrack is hip hop, rap, funky, fresh, fun. I really like it. It’s the sort of thing that gets stuck in your head pretty easily.

The cast members are all very diverse; Hamilton is played by Lin-Manuel Miranda, who also wrote the show and the songs, and is of Puerto Rican descent. There’s so many people of different colors and ethnicities. It’s really cool, and makes the show stand out from other Broadway performances.

Basically all you can find of Hamilton right now is the music. I’ve listened to the soundtrack a couple of times, and my favorite song would probably have to be “You’ll Be Back,” which is sung by Jonathon Groff, who plays King George III. It sounds like it came from a British boy band (which was most likely their intention), and it makes me laugh every time. It’s a good song! The lyrics are really catchy, and it’s set up to be like a breakup song or a love song about Great Britain and America. I don’t know, there’s something about that I find funny. Like the line, “I’ll send a fully armed battalion to remind you of my love.” 🙂 It’s entertaining.

I also really like “The Schuyler Sisters” and “Wait For It.” (Though really, every song on that soundtrack is pure genius.)

One question, how come “Schuyler” is pronounced “Skylar”? English is an odd language… 

It’s too bad that the tickets are super expensive, even for Broadway. There’s no way I’ll ever see this musical, unless someone illegally uploads it onto Youtube or something. But I can still enjoy the music. It’s one of the best musical theater albums I’ve ever listened to.

Leave a Reply

