I Have Made A Huge Mistake

As I’ve posted about before, I’m an officer in my high school’s colorguard. I don’t really get along well with some particular officers that I work with, primarily the seniors. They think they’re all that because they’re seniors. I think they’re annoying stuck up brats. It’s a complicated relationship.

I heard about another section in the marching band giving out a survey to their section to anonymously evaluate their leaders. For some reason, I thought this was a good idea, so I created one and sent it out to them, after talking with the other leaders to make sure I have their apporval.

I had hoped that maybe the rest of the colorguard would say things I agreed with. I hoped they would talk about how the seniors yell too much, how the juniors get overlooked, and how the leaders talk behind each others’ backs way, WAY too much.

And that’s exactly what I got. Which made me feel validated and not crazy and great.

But then I started thinking about it. Would giving the bad leaders this information actually change anything about their behavior? 

Nope. Actually, it might just make them mad (at me) and even more stubborn and stuck in their ways.

So now the problem is, I have all the guard’s opinions on each of the leaders (sometimes called out very harshly) and the other leaders are expecting me to deliver this information to them. I can’t give them this. Not only will it hurt their feelings, it will make them mad at me, because I’m the one that suggested this whole survey thing!

I don’t know how to fix this. I ended up just sending the form with the responses to the guard director. He is respected by all the leaders. Whatever descision he makes about the survey answers will be accepted.

Hopefully this turns out okay.

Leave a Reply

